Congratulations to winners at the AIM Awards 2012

Adele took home the PPL Award for Most Played Independent Act, capping a tremendous year.

The AIM Independent Music Awards took place on Monday night (29 October) at the Brewery in Clerkenwell, London, and was hosted by Huw Stephens and Steve Lamacq. Frankie and the Heartstrings performed live (pictured right).

The awards recognise the diversity and creativity of independent artists and labels.

Alison Wenham, CEO of AIM, said: "Our second awards has marked a stellar year for the independent sector - congratulations to all the nominees and winners! This list of winners is like no other, and truly reflects the breadth of talent and diversity in the independent sector. A fantastic night was had by all, and we look forward to celebrating further success for the independents in 2013."

In total 15 awards were presented on the night, with 11 categories voted for by an expert panel of judges from across the music industry, one decided by airplay stats, and a further three categories voted for by the public.

Full list of winners:

Best Live Act (voted for by visitors to
The Prodigy

Independent Breakthrough Of The Year (in association with 7Digital)
Alt - J

Hardest Working Band Or Artist

Best Difficult Second Album
First Aid Kit – 'The Lion's Roar'

Independent Album Of The Year (In association with Bird & Bird)
Enter Shikari – 'A Flash Flood Of Colour'

Best Small Label (in association with Sound Performance)
Black Butter Records

Genre Spotlight Award
Wiley – 'Evolve Or Be Extinct'

Independent Entrepreneur Of The Year (in association with The Orchard)
Simon Raymonde - Bella Union

PPL Award For Most Played Independent Act

Special Catalogue Release Of The Year
The 13th Floor Elevators – 'Music Of The Spheres'

Independent Label Of The Year (in association with EDC)

Indie Champion Award
Ian Evans - IME Music

Best Independent Festival (voted for by visitors to

Outstanding Contribution to Music (in association with eMusic)
Edwyn Collins

Pioneer Award (in association with Nokia Music)
Daniel Miller, Mute

As previously announced, Edwyn Collins received the Outstanding Contribution To Music award, which was presented on the night by Edwyn's long term friend Vic Godard of Subway Sect fame and Frankie & The Heartstrings, whose debut album was produced by Edwyn. Mute Boss, Daniel Miller accepted the Pioneer Award, recognising his huge influence on the independent sector and electronic music in a career spanning three decades, which was presented to him by Domino Recordings founder and previous recipient of the Pioneer Award, Laurence Bell.