SAY Award 2014 Shortlist Announced!

The Scottish Music Industry Association (SMIA) is delighted to announce the shortlist for this year’s Scottish Album of the Year (SAY) Award.

The winning artist will receive £20,000 and will be announced at the SAY Award ceremony on 19 June at Barrowland Ballroom.

The 72-hour voting window, which closed at midnight on Wednesday, saw Biffy Clyro being voted on to the shortlist by the public. The band said: “We're absolutely delighted to have made the shortlist, thank you to everyone who voted for us.”

The ten shortlisted albums are a reflection of the diverse range of musical genres and great albums which were released last year and reinforce the quality of music being produced in Scotland.

John Williamson, who chaired the judging panel this year, commented: "This year's longlist had the widest range of music - in terms of genre - in the prize's three year history. While this could have been a problem, each of the shortlisted albums had considerable support among the judging panel. This was helped by the presence of several really outstanding albums, ranging from the already successful to the much less well known. Similarly, the shortlist contains not only acts at the beginning of their careers, but several who are making their best music many years down the line.  It is also really striking that while this is a Scottish album prize, all of these are albums that neither hide nor particularly flaunt their Scottishness: many are the result of collaborations well beyond Scottish borders, and similarly their audiences, and potential audiences, are scattered throughout the world.”

SAY AWARD SHORTLIST 2014 (in alphabetical order)

Biffy Clyro Opposites

Boards of Canada Tomorrow's Harvest

CHVRCHES The Bones Of What You Believe

Edwyn Collins  Understated

Hector Bizerk Nobody Seen Nothing

Mogwai Les Revenants

RM Hubbert  Breaks & Bone

Steve Mason Monkey Minds in The Devil's Time

The Pastels  Slow Summits

Young Fathers Tape Two

The judging panel for this year’s award were: John McLaughlin (musician); Kevin Williamson (Neu Reekie); Nicola Meighan (journalist); Kath Mainland (Edinburgh Festival Fringe); Claire Sawers (journalist); Amanda Millen (goNORTH Festival); Jill Rodger (Glasgow International Jazz Festival); Andy Weatherall (DJ and producer); Craig Armstrong (musician); Will Fitzpatrick (journalist) and John Williamson (academic).

Caroline Parkinson, Director of Creative Development at Creative Scotland, said: “The SAY Award is a fantastic way of supporting and raising the profile of Scotland’s talented musicians, of which there are many.  As a founding partner, we are delighted to continue to support the Awards and congratulate all the nominees!”

Jonathan Morrish, Director of PR and Corporate Communications at PPL, who is once again supporting the award, said:  “On behalf of everyone at PPL, I would like to congratulate the 10 artists shortlisted for this year’s SAY Award. I don’t envy the panel of judges on what must have been a very difficult decision. The 10 really demonstrate the rich diversity and quality of Scotland’s music scene and we are looking forward to celebrating what will undoubtedly be a fantastic night on the 19th of June at Glasgow’s Barrowlands.”

Ian Manson, Chief Executive of Clyde Gateway, said: "The SAY Award has continually showcased the very best in contemporary Scottish music and this year is no exception.  Clyde Gateway is delighted that our involvement will again lead to what will be yet another memorable night at the Barrowlands, in the city's east end, in three weeks time when the winner from this exceptional shortlist will be revealed."

Media Partners

Claire Sawers, Music Editor, The List, said: “It was always going to be a big ask distilling an entire years' worth of Scottish albums down to a top ten - but judgement day (part one) seems to have been a success. After going through the 2014 Say Award longlist, its good to see that the shortlist includes some truly excellent synth pop (Chvrches), virtuoso guitar (last year's SAY Award winner, RM Hubbert), national treasures (Mogwai, The Pastels, Edwyn Collins, Biffy Clyro and Steve Mason), shape shifting hip hop (Young Fathers, Hector Bizerk) and cherished electronic/ambient producers (Boards of Canada). I think the judges were surprised to find themselves pretty unanimous on a good few artists today - getting a consensus on just one winner on the night of the 19th could be a bit messier!”

Dave Kerr, Music Editor, The Skinny, said:   "Now this is a shortlist we can get behind: Everybody on here has been a regular in The Skinny over the years – no less than four of the finalists have graced the cover and several made our own top ten of 2013. Let the message board debates commence and good luck to the final ten!"