PPL makes changes to Executive Management Team

Sarah Mitchell has been promoted to the new role of Director of Member Services. Three further changes have been made within the leadership team.

Music licensing organisation PPL has made four changes to its Executive Management Team (EMT), the group of senior employees responsible for the direction and running of the £200m company.  Sarah Mitchell, formerly Head of Member Services at PPL, has been promoted to the new role of Director of Member Services and joins the now nine-strong EMT led by CEO Peter Leathem.

Mitchell joined PPL in June 2014 as Head of Public Performance Operations – the department responsible for generating revenue through the licensing of recorded music in public places – before moving within the company to take up the post of Head of Member Services, with responsibility for the team who serve the needs of PPL’s many thousands of members.

Other leadership changes include Christine Geissmar becoming Chief Operating Officer after holding the position of Operations Director since 2012.  Former Director of Legal & Business Affairs David Harmsworth becomes General Counsel and Chris Barton moves to the role of Chief Financial Officer from Finance Director. 

Peter Leathem, Chief Executive at PPL commented:  “All of the new role changes in the Executive Management Team are thoroughly deserved and come as a result of the hard work, tenacity and dedication that has been shown to PPL.  I particularly wish Sarah Mitchell every success in the newly-created role as Director of Member Services.  These changes ensure that we are not standing still as an organisation as we build upon a strong previous financial year of record revenues and strive to deliver an ever better service to our members.”

The drive to ever-improve the service PPL offers to members has been nationally recognised with the organisation receiving accolades at multiple award ceremonies in 2017 including winning the ‘Delivering Business Change’ category at the UK Business Awards and becoming ‘Company of the Year (Small to Medium Business)’ at the Employee Engagement Awards. 

Photo left to right: Chris Barton, Christine Geissmar, Peter Leathem, Sarah Mitchell, David Harmsworth

For further information or interviews, please contact:

Clive Drew, PPL 0207 534 1262 / 07703 729095   / clive.drew@ppluk.com

Follow @ppluk on Twitter to stay up to date with all news and updates.