Winners announced at the Parliamentary Jazz Awards

Last night the House of Commons played host to the seventh PPL sponsored Parliamentary Jazz Awards, attended by a record number of MPs and peers, showing a cross-party love of jazz.

Hosted by broadcaster Paul Gambaccini, many MPs, Peers and renowned jazz musicians were present on the night including Jamie Cullum, Dame Cleo Laine and Lord David Steel of Aikwood.

Here are the full list of winners:

Jazz Musician of the Year
Brian Kellock

Jazz Album of the Year
John Turville 'Midas'

Jazz Ensemble of the Year
Brass Jaw

Jazz Venue/Promoter of the Year
The Hideaway (London)

Jazz Journalist of the Year
John Fordham

Jazz Broadcaster of the Year
Paul Barnes

Jazz Publication of the Year
'Goin' Home: The Uncompromising Life and Music of Ken Colyer' by Mike Pointon, Ray Smith, Martin Colyer

Jazz Education Award
Dr Ian Darrington MBE

Services to Jazz Award
Coleridge Goode

APPJAG Special Award
Dame Cleo Laine

"Each year we are knocked out by the consistent quality of the UK jazz scene, with long serving players, writers, educators and promoters being joined by a new generation of talent. We hope our Parliamentary Jazz Awards help encourage this creativity and draw others to share our enjoyment of British jazz" said Michael Connarty MP, APPJAG Co-Chairman.

Guests were treated to a performance by James Pearson and the Ronnie Scott's All Stars.

The APPJAG has members from the House of Commons and House of Lords across all political parties. Their aim is to encourage wider and deeper enjoyment of jazz, to increase Parliamentarians' understanding of the jazz industry, to promote jazz as a musical form and to raise its profile inside and outside of Parliament. The Group's officers are Co-Chairs Michael Connarty MP and Lord Colwyn, and Secretary Joan Walley, MP.