Winners announced at the Parliamentary Jazz Awards 2012

Last night, the House of Commons played host to the eighth PPL sponsored Parliamentary Jazz Awards which was attended by a record number of MPs and peers, showing a cross-party love of jazz.

Now the only UK jazz awards the night was hosted by broadcaster Paul Gambaccini. Many MPs, Peers and renowned jazz musicians were present on the night including Jamie Cullum, Acker Bilk, Claire Martin, Laurie Holloway, Arts Minister Ed Vaizey MP, The Rt Hon Lord Prescott and Lord David Steel.

Acker Bilk received the APPJAG Special Award and is pictured, above right, with Michael Connarty MP, Co Chair of APPJAG; Moira Stewart; Peter Leathem, PPL CEO; and Lord Colwyn, Co Chair of APPJAG.

Here are the full list of winners:

Jazz Musician of the Year
Bobby Wellins

Jazz Album of the Year
Liane Carroll ‘Up and Down’

Jazz Ensemble of the Year
Scottish National Jazz Orchestra

Live Jazz Award of the Year
The Spin, Oxford

Jazz Journalist of the Year
Jon Newey

Jazz Broadcaster of the Year
Jamie Cullum

Jazz Publication of the Year
Jazz UK

Jazz Education Award
Gary Crosby OBE

Services to Jazz Award
John Cumming

APPJAG Special Award
Acker Bilk

“Each year we are knocked out by the consistent quality of the UK jazz scene, with long serving players, writers, educators and promoters being joined by a new generation of talent. We hope our Parliamentary Jazz Awards help encourage this creativity and draw others to share our enjoyment of British jazz” said Michael Connarty MP, APPJAG Co-Chairman.

Guests were treated to a performance by James Pearson and the Ronnie Scott’s All Stars.

The APPJAG has members from the House of Commons and House of Lords across all political parties.  Their aim is to encourage wider and deeper enjoyment of jazz, to increase Parliamentarians’ understanding of the jazz industry, to promote jazz as a musical form and to raise its profile inside and outside of Parliament.  The Group’s officers are Co-Chairs Michael Connarty MP and Lord Colwyn, Secretary: Baroness Coussins and Treasurer, Kelvin Hopkins MP.